5. Queues‎ > ‎

A. Basic Settings

 
By:  Mark Kleinschmidt
Date:    10/12/2010
Rev.:     11/29/2010 - Mark Kleinschmidt
 
INTRODUCTION
 The Basic Settings Tab for a queue definition is the starting place when adding a new queue.  After naming the queue and setting the other options desired, it is important to click on the "Save" button before proceeding to another tab.
 
FIELDS AND PROMPTS
In this section we will take the fields and options on the page from top to bottom and left to right.  The following graphic has been stretched a bit to include all the options in a single screen shot.
 
 
Name - The only required field on the whole form.  This is the name of the queue.  This is usually a descriptive name used by administrators and experts in working with the queue.  Common names include "Receptionist", "Help Desk", "Benefits Center". 
 
Description - The description is optional.  The first line will appear on the queues listing that first appears when you enter the Queues tab.  You can use the field hwoever you wish.  In this example the administrator placed the server that housed the database with the queue in it.
 
Category - A free form non-required field with no special values.  Establish your own catagories to easily identify the queue.  This queue is in the "Demonstration" category to differentiate it from a queue in "Testing" or "Development".  It is only used to display on the queue listing.
 
Language - This field is another aid to help you manage queues in a multi-lingual environment.  It is usually set to the same value as the language in the text resources.  This value is also displayed on the queue listing.
 
Region - This field displays in the record created in the qlogs database for a conversation.
 
URL: - This is not a user enterable object.  It is used to troubleshoot the queue as it contains the raw XML definition for the queue.  This is the code that gets used by the framework to actually build the queue.
 
Primary Queue Operation - There are two values for this field:
 
 
In general you should use the "Watched Queue" option.  This will create a monitored queue.  The "Broadcast" option is provided to support legacy queues, and will gradually be phased out.  If you are looking for a queue that will perform in a manner similar to a broadcast queue, still select the "Watched Queue" option.  We'll show you the settings to make it work like a broadcast queue farther on in the documentation.
 NOTE:  A "Watched" Queue is the same as a "Monitored" Queue.  The two terms are used interchangeably.
Broadcast Engine - The value set here depends on the value used in the previous field.  This field defines which Instant Queue Manager framework or engine to use to drive the queue.
 

If you have selected the "Watched Queue" option in the previous field, then you must select the "V4" option here.  If you selected the "Broadcast" option in the preceding field, then the correct option here is "V2 and V3".  The default is "V4" which is appropriate for Watched/MOnitored Queues.

Startup Type - This field contols the way the queue will start. 
 
 
There are 3 options:  "Automatic" will start and restart the queue after changes have been saved and the edit window closed.  "Manual" requires that the administrator start and restart the queue from the Control Panel in the ADMIN Tab.  "Disabled" allows the queue definition to exist in Queue Manager without the engine finding it and trying to load it.
NOTE:  The "Disabled" option is useful when you are first entering a queue.  It allows you to build the entire queue without the engine trying to load and manage it.
Get customer request before locating an agent - When checked, the queue will present the welcome message and ask the visitor to enter their question or comment.  After getting the initial query, the queue will then proceed to search for an expert to assist the visitor.  In the Text Resources section there is a variable available that will include the initial query in the invitation to an expert to pick up the conversation.  When this option is left unchecked, the queue will immediately start to look for an expert after the welcome message is displayed.
 
Send the periodic wait message every _____ seconds (Should be less than max. wait time) - This prompts sets the amount of time between messages to the seeker/visitor, telling them the queue is still trying to find an expert.  The only requirement is that the number used in the space be less than the maximum wait time below.  For general guidance, we suggest that the number should be about the same as the time between notifications to the experts.
 
When should a customer receive the message that no one is available?  - There are two options for determining when to stop trying to find an expert.
 
The first option will try to contact all available experts in the queue that aren't busy.  After that it will put the message created in text resources for the purpose.  If the second option, the visitor will continue to wait in the queue the total number of seconds after all the experts have been invited to take the conversation.  The default here, 500 seconds, is a little over 8 minutes.
NOTE: While the experts once pinged will be unable to pick up the conversation by typing "y" into the notification window, they could still pick up the visitor from either the monitoring panel or the mini-monitoring panel.
Agents cannot disable themselves via Option 4 of the Agent Options Menu - This option is retained to maintain compatibility with legacy versions of Queue Manger.  It has no meaning in Version 4 queues.
 
Automatically refresh agent group every hour - This option is retained to maintain compatibility with legacy versions of Queue Manger.  It has no meaning in Version 4 queues.
 
Send agent name to customers - When the agent rights a message and sends it to the visitor/seeker, if this option is checked their message is prefixed with either their full name or first name depending on which radio button is checked.
 
Send customer name to agents - This is the same thing on applies to the visitor/seeker.  If the name is known, and this checkbox is checked then the visitors name is prefixed to the visitor's messages.  If the visitor's name is not known, then the unique token id is sent instead.
 
Automatically re-enable queue agents at midnight - if the agent is set as disabled. - A manager has the capability to remove an expert from a queue.  This option makes it a temporary disablement with the agent automatically returning to the pool of available experts.  If this option is not checked then a disabled expert will remain in that state until a manager enables him or her.
 
Remove agents from queue for remainder of the day when they have handled their maximum requests for the day. - In the Experts tab covered later, it is possible to limit the number of conversations an expert can accept.  If this option is checked, when the expert reaches the limit she or he will be removed from the pool of available experts until midnight.
 
Disable support for online meetings. - This option is retained to maintain compatibility with legacy versions of Queue Manger.  It has no meaning in Version 4 queues.  It should remain checked.
 
Enable logging prompts? - This option, when checked, will allow the expert to log comments at the end of a chat to be included in the log for the conversation.  This is a feature familiar to users of earlier versions of Instant Queue Manager.  After the visitor has left to conversation and before the expert closes his or her window, they will have the ability to enter a "/log" and enter additional comments.
 
Should a problem ticket be created? - This option is retained to maintain compatibility with legacy versions of Queue Manger.  It has no meaning in Version 4 queues.
 
Should a product catalog be logged? - This option is retained to maintain compatibility with legacy versions of Queue Manger.  It has no meaning in Version 4 queues.
 
BUTTONS AND ACTIONS
 
 
Close - Button - This button closes the queue definition window discarding all the unsaved changes on all the tabs.
 
Save - Button - This button saves all the changes made in all panels of the queue definition window.
NOTE:  When adding a queue, you must save the data on the BASIC tab before proceeding to the other tabs.
Save & Close - Button - This button saves all the changes made in all panels and closes the queue definition window.  Control is returned to the list of queues.
 
URL: - Link - Clicking on this link will open a new browser window that will show you the actual XML that is the queue definition.  This data is very useful in troubleshooting why the queue is not behaving the way expected.  The following graphic is the first few lines of one of these XML files:
 
 To return to Instant Queue Manager, simple close the browser window.
Comments