5. Queues‎ > ‎

E. Experts

By:        Mark Kleinschmidt
Date:    11/16/2010
Rev.:     11/16/2010
 
OVERVIEW
This tab allows the administrator to add experts to a specific queue.  Please note that prior to adding an expert to the queue, he or she must first be added to the Experts List in the Directory in the ADMIN tab.  To do this, please refer to "Administration/Directory/Experts" menu selection to the left.
 
To work with the tab, you must first select a queue to work with either by adding a new queue or selecting an existing one.
 
 
Then, to add and remove experts from the queue, click on the "EXPERTS" Tab.
 
FIELDS AND ACTIONS
 
Once you have selected a queue and clicked on the edit button, a list of currently assigned experts will be presented.  From this window, you can add and remove experts, adjust certain properties for them, and view the XML definition for the experts.
 
 
There are two types of experts; individuals and public groups.  Both individual experts and public groups need to be set up in the Sametime Address Book and in the Directory in the ADMIN tab before they can be used here.
 
ACTIONS
Add - Button - Use this command button to add a new expert to the list.
Remove - Button - Use this command button to delete an expert from the list.
Refresh - Link - This action fires a procedure that rebuilds the list.  Use this to show any changes made to the list.
Open - Button - This command button opens a panel with properties can be set for each expert or group.
URL - Link - This opens a browser window displaying the XML that defines the experts to queue.
List Navigation - Where there are more experts in the list than will fit in a single page, these buttons allow navigation around the pages of the list.
 
DISCUSSION
Add
 
 
Clicking the add button opens a list of all available experts and public groups in the ADMIN Experts Directory.
 
 
To add experts and/or groups, select the experts and groups by checking the checkbox, then click the "OK".  When the expert list for the queue is refreshed, the new experts and groups will be in the list.
 
Remove
 
To remove an expert or group, first select the ones to be removed by checking the checkbox at the beginning of their row, then click on the "Remove" button.  When the list has finished refreshing, the experts and/or groups will be gone.  You can remove more than one expert or group at a time.
 
 
Refresh
 
 
After making changes to the properties for experts and groups, to see the changes in the list, you will need to click on the "Refresh" link.  This will force the list to reload, thus pulling all the changes made from the database.
 
Open
 
 
Each expert and group has an "Open" button.  This button opens a panel for editing the properties associated with that specific person or group.
NOTE:  The properties of a group will apply to all members of the group.  If you need to set the properties on an individual basis, add each person as an expert, then set the properties for that person.
 
FIELDS

    Expert/Group Name - This field is for reference purposes, to identify which expert you are working on.

    Max number conversations per day - This field restricts the number of conversations an expert can have with visitors to the queue each day.
    Max number concurrent requests to handle at one time - Experts can usually handle more than 1 chat at a time.  This parameter allows you to set a limit on the number of conversations the expert can have active at any point in time.
    Priority - We allow you to divide your experts into 3 tiers or priorities.  These priorities are used in the Queue's Broadcast definition to define how experts will be notified.  Choose one of the 3 priorities from the dropdown list.
    Expert(s) will act as an admin - If the expert will be an administrator for the queue, set this to "true", if not, leave it as "false".
    Expert(s) will be disabled when the queue starts - With this option set to "true", when the queue restarts, the experts will appear to be disabled.  This is convenient when the queue is restarted after hours.  Experts can be enabled via the Manager Panel, or when they log into Sametime.
 
BUTTONS
 
    Close - This button closes the panel.  If there are unsaved changes, they will be lost.
    Update - This button commits changes to the database.
 
URL
 
Clicking on the URL to the right of the prompt will open a new browser window with the XML definition of the experts.  This is often used in troubleshooting issues with Queue Manager as this XML is used in the queue definition when the queue is loading.  This listing should be used by experienced programmers and I/T staff. 
 
List Navigation
 
 The list navigation buttons are pretty standard.
 
 
Comments